Coffee Connect Newsletter: The Movement is You


Hi from Jeanene Louden, Secretary for our newly elected Board of Directors

by Jeanene Louden

Hi. My name is Jeanene Louden. I’m a retired business owner, a wife, a mother, a grandmother, AND I’m a thoughtful American who believes democracy is in trouble and it is my job as a citizen to intervene!

I joined Coffee Party USA because the message rang true: money has replaced votes in our government and the resulting mischief is killing the country I know and love. Now, on January 1st, 2012, I will be seated as a member of the Coffee Party’s first electedBoard of Directors. I am enthusiastic about volunteering for Coffee Party at the highest possible level of involvement and responsibility. I believe in my heart that the Coffee Party can, in solidarity with like-minded organizations, face the challenges of the coming years and help our America come out on top.

Our Board of Directors is made up entirely of everyday Americans like you. None of us are political professionals. None of us are experts. So, we’re going to need you to contribute to the collective wisdom of our membership. This is the only way we can live up to the promise of this one-of-a-kind grassroots organization, and, more importantly, the promise of America.

In the first few weeks of 2012, the new Board of Directors will need to answer some pretty tough questions. At the center of it all: how can the Coffee Party effectively perform its role as a doorway for civil, fact-based, and trans-partisan civic participation in the middle of one of the most bitterly contentious and momentously important election years in our history? What sort of initiatives, what sort of messaging, and what sort of insights can we chart out that will allow us to fulfill our mission to inform and engage fellow Americans in our democratic process without leaning on the usual tropes of partisanship, negativism, and demonizing the “other”?

As incoming Secretary, I pledge to ensure that the lines of communication between Official Members and the Board of Directors remain a two-way street, so that we can benefit from the diverse experience and perspectives that define the Coffee Party community.

Here are three steps I am taking to do this:

  1. I am in training to become a Coffee Party Radio Talk Show Host! You can listen to my recent appearance on Coffee Party radio, along with Annabel Park, by clicking here. Starting in January, I will have my own show once a week. I invite you to join me and tell me what’s on your mind.
  2. I would like to invite you to join our “Class of 2012” Membership Drive, so that we can all start fresh, together in the first month of 2012. If you join the “Class of 2012” before Jan. 31st you can receive some special gifts like bumper stickers, coffee mugs, and T-shirts.
  3. I invite you to email me with your ideas, concerns, and suggestions. I am particularly interested in hearing from Membership, but if you are a person who cares about our country’s future, I am interested in what you have to say whether you are an Official Member or not.

[MORE, including video of Jeanene, and a photo of her husband and her dog!]

Leave a Reply

